Kringla (Take Two)

My Scandinavian heritage tends to manifest itself in two ways:

1.) Baking.

2.) A sincere love for The Swedish Chef.

And the second one probably doesn’t count, because I would be fond of The Swedish Chef whether I shared his Swedish blood or not.

But I do love my Swedish baked goods, and kringla is probably my favorite of them all. In fact, the first post ever here at Nutella Enchanted covered kringla. However, looking back at it, I realized two things. First, the recipe listed has not proved the most reliable in my experience (the kringla, though they taste fine, always sort of lose their shape). Second (and much more important), I accidentally left out a MAJOR ingredient. Seriously. I hope nobody ever tried to use that recipe, because whatever it yielded would not have been kringla.

For these reasons, I thought it would be nice to revisit my favorite Scandinavian treat. So here you have it.

Nu här är några slumpmässiga ord på svenska! Och Lycklig Jul!

Kringla

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 pint sour cream
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 1/2 c flour

Cream the sugar and butter. Add the egg, vanilla and sour cream. Stir in all the remaining ingredients until well incorporated, and you have a thick dough.

Chill dough for at least two hours, or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350. Roll small lumps of the chilled dough out on a floured board into the shape of your choosing. Kringla are traditionally made into either a figure eight or a pretzel shape. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes, or until the kringla are a very light golden shade.

SAM_8571

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

