How to peel an orange like a ninja

“I would prefer it it I did not enjoy oranges. Consuming them is a most incommodious business.”

I have long shared the sentiments expressed in today’s quote (which is taken from Eileen Atkins’ character in the BBC miniseries Cranford. Which, as long as I’m on the subject, I may as well tell you is the greatest thing ever and should be watched by everyone).

Who doesn’t love a good orange? Who doesn’t not love the sticky, messy process of trying to consume one?

Up until last week I had never known a really good way to deconstruct an orange. I saw a photo depicting the following method on Pinterest. I didn’t even click on it, I just caught a glimpse of it in passing. It seemed too good to be true, so I mosied on without a second thought. A day or so later, however, I found myself wishing to eat an orange with lunch and this method popped into my mind. I didn’t think it would work, but decided to give it a go just the same. As of now, this may rank as one of the greatest decisions I have ever made.

Perhaps others have already been enlightened by all this, but since it’s new to me I find it very exciting. Also: I’m pretty sure that nobody has ever gotten close enough to a ninja to see how they peel their oranges, but I am certain that this is the method they must use. It’s just that awesome.

Miss Deborah would be proud.

How to peel an orange (like a ninja):

Step One: Use a paring knife to slice the ends off of your orange.

 

Step Two: Pretend you are a surgeon (this isn’t necessary, but it’s more fun) and make a shallow incision along the length of the orange. You want it to be deep enough to go through the skin, but not cut into the fruit.

Step Three: Using your fingers, gently separate the cut and pull open the orange.

VOILA!

Now all you have to do is peel the sections away from the skin and enjoy. I can’t absolutely guarantee sticky-finger-freedom, but I can say with certainty that this is the best and least messy orange-peeling method I’ve ever tried.

It’s the simple things in life, you know?

Leave a Reply

