Spaghetti with Garlic Gravy

“No man is lonely while eating spaghetti:
it requires so much attention.”
— Christopher Morley

“Avoid at all costs that vile spew you see rotting in oil in screwtop jars. Too lazy to peel fresh? You don’t deserve to eat garlic.”
— Anthony Bourdain

Are you guys watching the Olympics? I never miss ’em. Never ever.

Now, I have always been much more a spectator than a participator when it comes to sports. I played pee-wee basketball and tee-ball as a youth, and took a tennis class in college. And even though I owned the push-up category of the Presidential fitness challenge in grade school, I am not an athlete in any sense of the word. I’m the girl that got picked last for Capture-the-Flag teams, and then got stuck with flag-guarding duty every single time.

This is all OK. I am at peace with my un-athleticalness. There is nothing wrong with just watching sports and letting others do the competing.

I don’t know why, but the Olympics always bring out a different side. They inspire such ridiculous questions as, “Is it too late for me to become an elite competetive kayaker?” and “Could I possess an as-of-yet undiscovered water polo gene?” The answer is always a resounding YES (to the former) and NO (to the latter). So I content myself by considering that if daydreaming were an Olympic event, I’d be a perennial gold-medal contender.

Another great way to content one’s un-athletic self? Spaghetti with garlic gravy, crab, and cherry tomatoes.

I found this recipe at Goddess of Scrumptiousness, and switched it up a bit, omitting the lemon-marinated chicken and replacing it with imitation crab. My way was tasty, but I do not doubt the original to be quite smashing as well.

Spaghetti with Garlic Gravy

  • 1 package of spaghetti, cooked
  • 1/4 C butter
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 4 cloves finely minced garlic
  • 2 T flour
  • 2 1/2 C chicken stock
  • 1 T fresh basil, chopped
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 C fresh parsley, chopped
  • 2 C cherry or grape tomatoes
  • Grated parmesan cheese

–  Place sauté pan over medium heat and add butter and olive oil.

–  Saute garlic until fragrant and soft.

–  Add the flour and cook for a minute.

–  Add chicken stock and simmer gravy until thickened then add the chopped basil.

–  Season with salt and pepper.

–  Add the  cooked spaghetti into this  sauce.

–  Add the cherry tomatoes and finish the dish with the chopped parsley and grated parmesan cheese.

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti with Garlic Gravy

  1. Excellent post, Lizzy.
    The great question about garlic is: Press or chop and smash with knife. Will have to try this recipe!
    PS- what about curling in the winter Olympics? Could you train and qualify for that?

    • Thanks! Pampered Chef’s garlic press is my weapon of choice… it is easily one of my favorite cooking tools.
      I’ve never actually watched a curling match in its entirety, but it’s definitely one of those sports that I wonder about. Also: bobsledding. I mean, if the Jamaicans figured it out, why not me?

Leave a Reply

