Cheerio Bars

Note: I have been trying to find a theme/header/background for this blog that satisfies me ever since I started it. Satisfaction continues to elude me. I thank my readers for their patience with all the tinkering.

***

This year for the first time in… well, pretty much for the first time ever, I planted some things in the garden. Patience isn’t my strongest suit, which is probably what has prevented my doing so  in the past. Starting something in March or April, tending it continuously, and not receiving the benefits until July? Previously, I would have said a vehement “no thanks” to the idea.

My tune has changed, though, and I’m glad for it. Now we have fresh flowers to brighten up the house and a robust supply of fresh herbs. There will be tomatoes coming along soon.

My glee in all of these things is such that I feel the need to take a copious amount of photographs of my “babies” and also to inflict them on the public. Heaven help you all should I ever have real children.

 

OK, so in the interest of full disclosure, I didn’t grow this Queen Anne’s Lace. It popped up of its own accord. But it’s so photogenic, I couldn’t resist.

Last week I took it a little further (too far, perhaps) and sneaked into the neighbor’s yard to take pictures of her sunflowers. Because a rabbit (presumably) ate the ones I was trying to grow.

I like sunflowers.

But what does all this have to do with cheerio bars?

Nothing whatsoever, to own the truth.

There was a period of time in my younger days when this recipe would get made in our house from time to time. Somewhere between then and now it was lost (and nearly forgotten). I discovered it recently on Pinterest and was only too happy to resurrect it. Plus, this version prescribed a melted chocolate topping (which was new to me) and, even though the chocolate-melting process continues to give me fits (you can see the funky consistency in the photos that follow. It isn’t supposed to be like that) I must say that it makes for a brilliant addition.
The original recipe calls for Special K, but you could also use Rice Chex or Krispies, and I made it work with Cheerios.

Cheerio Bars – or Special K Bars, or what-have-you (from the delightful Yammie’s Noshery)

  • 6 cups of your cereal of choice
  • 1 C light corn syrup
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 1/2 C peanut butter
  • 2 C semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 C butterscotch chips
  • Additional 1/2 C peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Grease a large round bowl and pour the cereal in. Set aside. Grease a 9×13 inch pan. Set aside.

In a pan on the stove-top, combine the corn syrup and sugar. Stir with a rubber spatula over medium high heat until it comes to a boil. Immediately remove from heat and stir in 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter. Immediately pour this mixture over the cereal and fold in well until no gobs of caramel remain. Pour into the 9×13 pan and pat flat.

In a microwaveable dish, combine the butterscotch chips, chocolate chips, 1/2 cup of peanut butter, and vanilla. Microwave for 30 seconds at a time, stirring very well after each interval, until it is completely melted and smooth. Pour over the bars. Allow to cool completely at room temperature before cutting.

 

See the weirdness of the chocolate? *Sigh*

Leave a Reply

