Banana Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

“Ice cream is exquisite.  What a pity it isn’t illegal.” -Voltaire

I realize that I have developed a habit of starting out every post here by telling you how much I love a certain thing, and I acknowledge that it is high time I start being a little more original.

Today is not the day for that, though.

Because you must know: I love ice cream. I love it to bits. I love things like cookies and pie with much ardour as well, but there is nothing I love more than ice cream in the summertime. Nothing.

Strictly speaking, the following recipe is not ice cream at all. It is what you might call a “healthier alternative”. Now, words like “healthy” and “alternative” coupled together would usually cause me to recoil like a vampire from direct sunlight. I’m all for healthy eating, but when you have a phrase like “healthier alternative” it almost always denotes an inferior version of some delicacy that cannot be improved upon. Like turkey bacon. *Shudder*

In this case, however, I can have no such qualms. It may not be “real” ice cream, but the yummy factor is off the charts and the texture is awesome. And it’s as easy as you please to make. And there is a lot of room for experimentation, which I always love.

In short, this summer treat is definitely worth a try.

Banana Peanut Butter “Ice Cream” (from Got Chocolate)

  • 1 1/2 bananas, peeled and sliced into coins
  • 3 T peanut butter
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1 rounded T chocolate chips

Pop the sliced banana pieces in the freezer ’til they’re frozen solid.

Place frozen bananas in a food processor and blend until you have a smooth pulp.

Add peanut butter and honey and mix thoroughly.

Stir in chocolate chips by hand.

Remove to a freezer-safe container and freeze until solid.

Enjoy! 🙂


4 thoughts on “Banana Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

  1. I’m not usually a big banana fan in smoothies and such (don’t get me wrong I like bananas themselves and banana bread/muffins/etc), but I might have to give this a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

