Chocolate Chip Cookies

“If you can’t change the world with chocolate chip cookies, how can you change the world?”
-Pat Murphy

My history with chocolate chip cookies is longer than that of any other edible morsel I can think of. It has taken me awhile to find a recipe that I can truly rely on. For years I used one that would turn out a different every time I made them. Sometimes they were good. Sometimes they weren’t. Sometimes they would be soft and chewy, others they would spread out and be thin and crunchy.

 I haven’t the faintest idea what I might have been doing to produce such an array of results. I kept going back to it because I knew it to be the formula used to create the best chocolate chip cookie I had ever eaten. But it never seemed to work for me.

One time, when I slid the finished cookies onto cooling racks, all the chips dropped straight out the bottoms of them like little chocolate bombs. My cookies were full of holes. I’d made them to enter in the county fair, and the strangest thing of all is that they actually won a ribbon (red, if I recall correctly.)

Only recently have I moved on to trying different chocolate chip cookie recipes. A few months ago I discovered the one which follows, and it has yet to let me down. My test subjects Members of my family have also given these cookies thumbs up. The recipe has a secret ingredient, which always makes everything more fun (doesn’t it?) Not that it’s really a secret. It’s just unusual. But again, saying it’s secret is just more fun and amusing.
CCCs (Courtesy Apple A Day)


  • 3/4 C butter (softened)
  • 1 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C granulated sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 C AP flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350°.

Cream together butter and sugars until smooth. Add vanilla and egg, blending well.

Stir in flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Add chocolate chips.

Drop tablespoons full of dough onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake 8-10 minutes.

Yummers.

 

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

