Easy Peasy Peanut Butter Suprise Cookies

“Man cannot live on bread alone; he must have peanut butter.”  -James A. Garfield

Memorization isn’t my strong suit. When I’m making a recipe, even if it’s one I’ve done over and over, I have to look at the amounts and ingredients almost every time. For whatever reason, my brain doesn’t care for storing them. I’m guessing it’s too jam packed with useless trivia and random memories of experiences I would forget if I could. I often wish my cranium was more like a computer, and that I could delete all the information I don’t need anymore.

Alas, this is not the case. I still need dozens of recipe cards, and my brain refuses to relinquish names of people I met once over a decade ago and haven’t seen or heard of since.

There is one recipe that even I am capable of memorizing. I’ve been using this awesome 3-ingredient peanut butter cookie formula for years. A cuppa sugar, a cuppa peanut butter and one egg. A gnat could remember that. And if gnats have brains, I’m guessin’ they’re pretty tiny.

I was feeling spirited last week and decided to add a new twist to the classic peanut butter cookies… a suprise Nutella center!

Because the only thing better than chocolate and peanut butter is… OH WAIT, that’s right.  Nothing.

I’m proud of this, because I made it up myself. I also made up the name. Impressive, no?

Easy Peasy Peanut Butter Surprise Cookies
-1 C Peanut Butter
-1 C Sugar (plus a little extra for rolling)
-1 Egg
For the Middle:
-1/3 C Nutella
-1 T powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine the PB, sugar, and egg. Mix well. Scrape the sides of the bowl in the case of any stray peanut butter globs or eggy drips trying to escape.

In a separate, smaller bowl, mix up the nutella and powdered sugar.

Take a spoonful of the peanut butter dough and shape into a somewhat flattened circle with your fingers. Add a tiny blob of the Nutella mixture and shape the dough into the ball around it. It should look like a normal peanut butter cookie dough ball at this point. Roll in sugar and place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten slightly with a fork.

Repeat with remaining dough/Nutella. Bake for 10 minutes, or until set and golden brown.

Yummers.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Peanut Butter Suprise Cookies

  1. Pingback: Easy Peasy Peanut Butter Suprise Cookies | Nutella Enchanted - peanut-butter-cookies

Leave a Reply

