Cheddar Dill Popovers

Yurski burski popovers kaboofed.” -The Swedish Chef

I think pretty much everyone can agree that people these days have developed an unhealthy obsession with convenience. Nothing can be fast enough or easy enough for us.
I’m as guilty as the next person of falling prey to this way of thinking, but I also have a bit of a rebel streak in me. Which is why I often find myself doing things like making homemade egg-roll wrappers.
What I love more than anything are recipes that cause the lazy American and the rebel within me to unite. Super-easy, super-delicious home made things… the best of both worlds.
I found a doozy this week.
Popovers.
And on top of being super-easy, super-delicious, and home-made, they are also super adaptable (my other favorite thing.) This is the sort of recipe that could take over the world. In a good way. The original was for Rosemary Popovers. I decided to try making mine with dill (fast working its way up the ladder of herbs I’m not afraid of) and shredded cheddar cheese.
And they were fabulous. I definitely succumbed to the temptation to eat more than a reasonable amount of them. Chances are, you will too.

Cheddar Dill Popovers (Adapted from The Bite House)

  • 1 1/2 C white flour
  • 1 1/2 C milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp dill
  • Shredded cheddar cheese for sprinkling (about 1/2 cup)

Preheat oven to 450°.

Grease and flour a muffin tin.

Whisk together eggs and milk. Add flour, salt, and dill. Whisk gently until smooth.

Pour batter into muffin molds, filling them about 3/4 of the way. Sprinkle with the shredded cheddar.

Bake for 20 minutes at 450°, then turn the oven down to 350° and bake for another 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown. (Note: I shaved at least 5 minutes off both those baking times. Just use your best judgment.)

See the steam? Mmm….

2 thoughts on “Cheddar Dill Popovers

Leave a Reply

