Simple Strawberry Cake

“It’ll be spring soon. And the orchards will be in blossom. And the birds will be nesting in the hazel thicket. And they’ll be sowing the summer barley in the lower fields… and eating the first of the strawberries with cream. Do you remember the taste of strawberries?”

 

I tend to associate strawberries with the summertime. Not unlike picnics, lightning bugs, or parades. Or running barefoot through cool grass, or blow-up kiddie pools, or the hum of distant lawn-mowers. Strawberries are the crowning glory of any idyllic summer.

But when you offer me a giant carton of strawberries in the late winter/early spring, I want you to know that I am not going to turn them down. I mean, is there ever really a bad time for eating strawberries?

A clue: no.

Now, I could eat strawberries by themselves all the live-long day. Don’t doubt that. But this week my kitchen ended up with more strawberries than the five members of my family could reasonably consume in this manner. I know, I know…. Life is rough sometimes. We persevere.

I was forced to use a large quantity of said strawberries in the creation of a desert for Sunday dinner. I decided on this cake. In general, I don’t really care for cake, but this was fairly tasty and very simple.

I took some pictures pre-cutting, but my camera apparently ate them. And my camera can’t speak, but if it could, I think it would tell you that they were delicious.

Simple Strawberry Cake (recipe found here)

1/4 cup canola or plain vegetable oil
1 cup AP flour
1 1/2 full teaspoons baking powder
1 tablespoon white vinegar or white wine vinegar
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
2 to 3 cups strawberries, cut into quarters

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix the egg, milk, vinegar and oil in a big bowl.
Add the sugar and vanilla. Mix well.
Add the flour and baking powder, and mix well with a whisk till smooth.
Pour the batter into a greased round baking dish (I used a large glass pie plate).
Now mix one tablespoon sugar with the quartered strawberries. Arrange the strawberries on the top of the batter, pushing each piece of strawberry in a bit.
Bake at 350 for 60 minutes or till the cake is golden brown and a fork inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

 

Leave a Reply

