Lasagna Soup

“Soup is cuisine’s kindest course.  It breathes reassurance; it steams consolation; after a weary day it promotes sociability, as the five o’clock cup of tea or the cocktail hour.”
Louis P. De Gouy

Sometimes you find recipe that looks or sounds amazing, but yields a really unpleasant result. And sometimes you find one that sounds kind of sketchy, but turns out great when you give it a chance. This recipe falls into the latter category.

If I had simply seen a title like “lasagna soup”, my reaction would likely have been disgust. I would have immediately envisioned pans of sad, leftover lasagna in a dimly lit industrial kitchen being pulverized in some frightening machine until it turned to liquid, and then being served to a mass of unfortunate souls in a large, depressing cafeteria under the flicker of fluorescent lights. That is where my imagination would have taken me, to a disgusting repurposed meal for masses,  if I hadn’t seen a picture of lasagna soup first.  In the photo was a steaming bowl of something that looked creamy and cheesy and delicious. And I didn’t care what it was, or what it was called, I wanted it in my tummy… ASAP.

I did some fretting during the preparation of the soup, as it wasn’t looking too promising to begin with. It seemed like it was going to taste just like like spaghetti sauce. The thought of eating plain spaghetti sauce made my stomach turn even more than the aforementioned imaginary lasagna soup did. Perhaps this will be a disaster after all, I thought.  Thankfully, it came around after the pasta was added and it had cooked awhile and thickened up. It did not end up looking or tasting like plain spaghetti sauce at all. It looked good, smelled lovely, and the taste did not disappoint. I’m proud, really, of how it worked out. And since I used a composite 2 or 3 different different recipes to create it, I get to take most of the credit. Huzzah!

Lasagna Soup

  • 1/2 lb. Farfalle pasta
  • 1 lb. Italian sausage
  • 1 can (26 oz.) tomato sauce
  • 1 small can diced tomatoes
  • 2 1/2 cups beef or chicken broth
  • 1 tsp. oregano or basil
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • Plenty of shredded mozzarella cheese

*Yields a pretty giant pot of soup.

In a large pot, heat a splash of olive oil over medium heat. Add sausage, and cook until browned. Pour in tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, and broth and stir. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer about 20 minutes. Dump in pasta, and bring to a boil. Again reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally until soup thickens and pasta is tender. Add spices, salt and pepper, etc., Remove from heat and stir in mozarella (you might want to wait to do this until the soup has been served in bowls, as it is trickier to ladle out soup when it is full of stringy cheese.)

Note: I added lots of water to the soup along the way, and the measurements of spices listed are not exact. I was basically just adding stuff until my soup tasted right, and that is what I’d recommend anyone else do, as well. Have fun with it.

 

Leave a Reply

