Homemade Goldfish Crackers

This is one  of those recipes that I knew I was destined to try the moment I laid eyes on it. I have had a partiality to goldfish crackers for many years… it’s those happy little faces, y’know, and the fact that one of the ingredients listed on packages is “smiles”. God bless you, Pepperidge Farms!

You can imagine my excitement when I stumbled upon this page. Home made whole wheat goldfish crackers?! Yes please!  A week or so ago, I finally got the chance to try them out. The only hitch-up in my get-along was the lack of an actual fish-shaped cookie cutter to make my crackers with. So my goldfish crackers were actually shaped like stars and squares. It was OK, though… I know they were really goldfish in their little cracker hearts.

Sentimentality and shapes aside, this is a pretty great recipe. It’s easy (I imagine it would be great to do with kids) and the crackers really were tasty. It’s also fairly wholesome. That’s a win and a win and another win. Even if you don’t share my affinity for goldfish, you can’t beat that.

~

Homemade Whole Wheat Goldfish Crackers

  • 6 oz. (1 1/2 Cups) grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 4 T butter
  • 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 tsp onion powder (I substituted garlic powder)
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp table salt

Preheat oven to 350°F. Combine all ingredients in a food processor.

Run the machine until dough forms a ball, about two minutes.

If the dough feels warm or worrisome-ly soft, wrap it in waxed paper or plastic wrap and chill it in the fridge for 30 to 45 minutes. This also makes it easier to transfer shapes once they are rolled out.

On a lightly floured surface, using a lightly floured rolling pin, roll the dough out 1/8-inch thick. Form shapes with a cookie cutter, dipping it in flour from time to time to ensure a clean cut.

Gently transfer crackers to an ungreased cookie sheet with a 1/2 inch between them.

Bake the crackers on the middle rack for 12 to 15 minutes, or until they are barely browned at the edges. Remove from the oven and set the cookie sheet on a rack to cool.

Eat and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

