Krumkake

I recently inherited a krumkake (pronounced kroom-kaka) iron. Krumkake is a traditional Scandinavian treat the literal translation of which is bent or curved cake.  It is thin, crisp, and buttery.

Though a bit unsure I’d be able to pull krumkake off, I decided that the Christmas season was a fitting occasion to make my first attempt. I am proud to say that it turned out splendidly. Even more impressive is the fact that I did not once burn myself on the iron. This fact might not seem significant to the world at large, but I’m pretty sure that anyone wise in the ways of krumkake making would acknowledge it a feat, for a beginner.

Now, krumkake is traditionally shaped with a special cone, giving it an ice cream cone-like appearance. I don’t have a special krumkake cone, however, so I was forced to improvise. The recipe I found suggested using the handle of a wooden spoon, but that seemed too skinny. I settled on using the handle of an ice cream scoop and it worked just fine.

The suggested method of serving krumkake is filling it with whipped cream and/or fruit. I like just eating them plain, too.

Here are the recipe and photos (to prove I really did it.)

But first here is a little song to help get everybody in the Scandinavian/Christmas spirit…

***

Krumkake

  • 1/2 C butter (at room temperature)
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 C flour
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cardamom*
  • 6 T water

*I substituted almond extract for cardamom.

Cream together butter and sugar. Stir in eggs one at a time, then add vanilla and cardamom. Stir in flour, mixing well. Add water until the batter is the consistency of a thick cream sauce.

Lightly grease both sides of krumkake iron with cooking spray or melted butter. Heat iron over medium to medium-high heat (just until a drop of water sizzles on the surface.)

Place a heaping spoonful of batter onto the hot iron.

Close iron, squeezing handles together lightly to spread batter, but not so tightly that it leaks. Have a wet cloth on hand to wipe away any batter that might ooze out.

Bake for 30 seconds, then flip iron over and bake an additional 30 seconds on the other side. Flip back, open, and immediately roll cookie around a krumkake cone (or tool of your choosing.) Slip off gently and allow to cool on a rack.

I needed a third hand to take some of these pictures…

Store krumkake in an airtight container to preserve crispness.

Leave a Reply

