(Faux) Crab Cakes With Aioli

“Wonderful! Now, let’s eat before this crab wanders off my plate.”

It might not be very refined of me, but I really like imitation crab meat. I’m not entirely sure what it actually is, but still… the stuff is tasty. I fixed some crab cakes and aioli sauce for dinner last week, and they were tasty, too. The only problem is I didn’t go by an exact recipe, using elements from several different ones so I can’t represent to the world exactly what I did. I don’t even know how much crab (faux crab, that is) I used. The package did not specify how much was actually in it, which, in my opinion, should be illegal. It was a large package. I didn’t use all of it. And I wasn’t too careful in my measurements of the rest of the ingredients, either. I’m going with my best guesses. Good luck.

Lizzy’s Faux Crab Cakes

-Imitation crab meat, chopped (I’m estimating I used about 4-5 cups)
-3 Egg whites
-1 glob (about 1/4 cup) of mayonnaise
-1 sleeve of snack crackers
-Splash of Worcestershire sauce
-1 teaspoon lemon juice
-1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
-A few dashes of salt
-A dash of cayenne pepper

Beat eggs ’til fluffy; add in mayonnaise. Mix in cracker crumbs, Worcestershire sauce, lemon juice, garlic powder, salt, cayenne and chopped crab. Just eyeball it to see if any alterations are necessary (my mixture needed a few more crumbs before all was said and done.) Shape into patties.

To bake in oven (healthier): Preheat oven to 375. Place crab cake patties on a greased cookie sheet and bake for about 15 minutes. Flip the patties over and bake another 15 minutes.

To fry in skillet (yummier): Heat about 1/2 cup of oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Place a few patties at a time in the heated oil and fry until crispy and browned, about 4-5 minutes per side.

***

Fortunately, I can be more specific on the aioli, as I used an actual recipe. It’s a bit strong, but the people in my house seemed to like it.

-3/4 C Mayonnaise
-3 Cloves garlic
-2 1/2 Tablespoons lemon juice
-3/4 teaspoon salt
-1/2 teaspoon pepper

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Cover an chill at least 30 minutes before serving.

2 thoughts on “(Faux) Crab Cakes With Aioli

Leave a Reply

