Perfect brownies

Save the earth.  It’s the only planet with chocolate.

Finding reliable go-to recipes for staple dishes and deserts can be an adventure sometimes. I am happy to have discovered solid formulas for making stir fry,  a few soups, peanut butter cookies, ginger snaps and blondies that perfectly suit my taste. I am still in search of  never-fail recipes for things such as chocolate chip cookies and fried or baked chicken.

Today, I can definitively tell you that I have found the perfect brownie recipe to add to my collection of go-to’s. Perfect brownies from scratch have long eluded me. Box-brownies can be satisfying (especially if they’re Ghiradelli) but what kind of food-blogger would I be if I did that all the time?

I am not a fan of cakey-brownies. I want something moist, fudgy and rich, and these more than fit the bill. Seriously. You will need a glass of milk on hand. Furthermore, you will not need baking chocolate. I consider this a huge plus, as most legit-looking brownie recipes call for it, but it isn’t something that I ever happen to have on hand and I hate having to run out and buy stuff before I can start baking.

I know I found this recipe on the internet somewhere, but I don’t remember where, so I am unable to give credit to whomever credit is due. All I can say is, thank you mystery person. Thank you very, very much.

~

Perfect Brownies

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups Dutch cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Note: I use a bit less sugar and cocoa than the recipe calls for. Leaving out the extra 1/4 cups hasn’t made any unfortunate differences.

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Lightly grease a 9″ x 13″ pan.
  2. In a medium-sized microwave-safe bowl, or in a small saucepan set over low heat, melt the butter, then add the sugar and stir to combine. Return the mixture to the heat (or microwave) briefly, until it’s hot, but not bubbling. Heating the mixture twice dissolves more of the sugar and yield a shiny top crust on your brownies.
  3. Crack the eggs into a bowl and beat them with the cocoa, salt, baking powder, and vanilla till smooth. Add in the butter/sugar mixture.
  4. Add in the flour and chocolate chips, again stirring until smooth. If you want the chips to remain intact in the baked brownies rather than melting in, let the batter cool for about 20 minutes before stirring them in.
  5. Pour the batter into the lightly greased 9″ x 13″ pan.
  6. Bake the brownies for about 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. The brownie edges should feel set, and the center look moist, but not uncooked. Let cool on an iron rack before cutting and serving.

Leave a Reply

