The Mother’s Day Project, Day 4: Chicken Stir Fry

After winging it and being daring with my chili on Tuesday, and lasagna rolls on Wednesday, I was ready to escape back into my comfort zone. The chicken stir fry I made on Thursday was the only dish of the week that I had done before. It’s a solid recipe. It is easy and flexible, and the stir fry comes out flavorful and juicy. I have no reason to believe that this isn’t the only stir fry recipe in the world for me.  I hope no force of man or nature shall ever separate us…

I like my stir fry with broccoli, carrots, and snow pea pods. You can use whatever veggies you like, or happen to have on hand. Serve with rice or noodles and you pretty much have a complete meal. I added a bowl of sliced peaches as a side.

Dreamy Chicken Stir Fry

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breast halves
  • 3 T cornstarch
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1-2 T brown sugar
  • 3 T cooking oil
  • About 4 C vegetables
  • 1 C water
  • 1 tsp chicken bouillon granules

*Note: I have used teriyaki sauce instead of soy.

Cut chicken into 1/2 inch strips and place in a quart-sized ziploc bag. Add cornstarch and toss to coat. Combine soy sauce, ginger, garlic powder, and brown sugar in a bowl. Add to bag and shake well. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

In a large skillet, heat 2 T oil. Stir fry the chicken till no longer pink, about 3-5 minutes. Remove and keep warm. Add remaining oil; stir fry your veggies for 4-5 minutes, or until crisp-tender. Add water and bouillon. Return chicken to pan. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly.

Yields about 4 servings

One thought on “The Mother’s Day Project, Day 4: Chicken Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Perfect brownies | Nutella Enchanted

Leave a Reply

