The Mother’s Day Project, Day 2: Chili (Mild)

” Next to jazz music, there is nothing that lifts the spirit and strengthens the soul more than a good bowl of chili. ” -Harry James

~

Before a week ago Tuesday, I had never made chili in my life. I didn’t really use a recipe, either, which is a pretty bold move for me. In light of both of those things, I think the finished product turned out remarkably well. All my “guinea pigs” who ate it offered up positive reviews, which was enough to make me satisfied.

I was raised on my Mom’s chili, which is very mild, with hints of sweetness. Not being a fan of anything too picante, I aimed for a similar tasting chili. There was no ground beef to be found in the house, so it ended up being vegetarian, as well.

My ingredients were as follows:

-1 large can of tomato sauce

-Several cans-full of warm water

-Small can of kidney beans

-Big can of pinto beans

-Chili powder

-Brown sugar

-Salt

-Pinch (just a pinch) of cayenne pepper

To start, just combine the tomato sauce and water, then add your beans. I started by adding moderate amounts of the spices (a few teaspoons of chili powder and brown sugar, a few dashes of salt, etc.,) Mix ’em in well, then just taste the chili and add more of whatever until it tastes right. Let it simmer for a few hours to reach perfection. Serve with shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, and tortilla chips. I made a toss salad, as well. Mucho yum yum, if you ask me.

I like taking food pictures from this ^ angle. Why? Because it makes me think of the Kitchen in “Clue.”

One thought on “The Mother’s Day Project, Day 2: Chili (Mild)

Leave a Reply

