Jammie Dodgers

“I’m going to need a SWAT team ready to mobilise, street over maps covering all of Florida, a pot of coffee, twelve Jammie Dodgers and a fez.”

It’s confession time. My name is Elizabeth Kipps, and I’m an Anglophile.

If it’s British, I’m probably into it.

I wish I could spell words like “color” and “favorite” with u’s and get away with it. I would rather call diapers “nappies”. I love Austen and Dickens and Tolkien, Leicestershire accents and Robin Hood and The Beatles. I watch Downton Abbey, Sherlock and almost every period-drama miniseries the BBC turns out. I have eaten Jelly Babies and, while the notion of baby-shaped candy is disturbing, I love them.

I do not wish we drove on the left-side on our end of the pond. But most Englishy things delight me. Perhaps it’s because some British royalty are among my ancestors (which practically makes me a princess. True story.)

This love is what compelled me to make these cookies, er… “biscuits”. Even without that factor, though, how could one not want to make and consume any cookie biscuit that is called a “jammie dodger”? It is pretty much the greatest name ever.

So grab yourself a jammie dodger, a nice cuppa, a friend, and settle down with some Doctor Who reruns. I can’t think of much else I’d rather do.

(Beats fish fingers and custard.)

***

Jammie Dodgers (adapted and “translated” from The Pretty Blog)

1/2 C butter
2 Eggs
1 C sugar
2 1/2 C flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 C jam (I used raspberry)
Confectioner’s sugar, for dusting (optional)

1. Cream the butter and sugar together until light, fluffy and pale.

2.  Add eggs one by one, mixing well after each addition. Sieve in the flour, baking powder and salt and mix well until a dough forms. Leave the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes to rest.

3. Roll out the dough onto a lightly floured surface and cut out circles using a round cookie cutter. Cut shapes with a smaller cutter out of the centre of half of the circles. Place them all on a lined baking tray.

4. Bake  for  8-10 minutes.

5. When the cookies are done,  remove the tray  from oven and allow to cool. To assemble, sandwich the whole circles and the cut-out rounds together with jam.

6. Leave out for a while in order to let the jam to set. If desired, dust with confectioner’s sugar.

I might have cheated and made a few with Nutella instead of jam…

7 thoughts on “Jammie Dodgers

  1. Your fellow Anglophile thanks you dearly for this delightful recipe! I’m hosting a Doctor Who season 7 premiere party this Saturday, and these will be a huge hit!

  2. It makes me unspeakably happy that this recipe found its way into the hands of a fellow Whovian. Thanks so much for stopping by… I hope your party will be full of wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey goodness!

  3. Fantastic! thank you!! My son is having a Doctor Who birthday party and specifically asked for Jammie Dodgers. This recipe looks perfect and I am so excited to make them (not sure who is more excited about this party, him or me)…thinking I may need to make a test batch…or two tonight ;)

  4. Pingback: Doctor Who Season Premiere Party | Three Chic Geeks

Leave a Reply

